Homecoming Awards

Each year, the Office of Alumni Relations and the Office of the President join in celebrating Alumni through awards and recognition.


Distinguished Alumnus:
Established in 1960 this award recognizes exemplary professional and personal contributions resulting in national or international recognition.

ISU Achievement Award:
Established in 1984, this award recognizes personal actions, generosity and self-sacrifice on behalf of the University by a current faculty member or an emeritus faculty member.

ISU Distinguished Service Award:
Established in 2004, this award recognizes ISU staff members who have shown exceptional loyalty to the University through an extended period of employment.

William J. Bartz Award:
Established in 1976, this award recognizes continued support and development of ISU through personal actions, participation in University affairs and financial support regardless of alumni status.

President's Medallion:
Established in 2001 in recognition of Centennial celebration, this award honors friends and alumni whose outstanding accomplishments and exemplary service bring distinction to the University and advance higher education.

Homecoming Parade Marshal(s):
Established in 1984, this award recognizes faculty, staff or alumni who have made a significant impact in the ISU community. This award is presented by the ASISU president.

Young Alumni Award:
Established in 2012, this award recognizes alumni who have graduated within the last ten years for exceptional achievement in career, public service and volunteerism that brings honor to the University.


Homecoming awards recognize the considerable service, call of duty and loyalty to Idaho State University. In each category or honor, at least one candidate is selected annually and recognized with other award recipients at the President's Alumni Recognition Dinner during the Homecoming celebration.

Download a nomination form

Nominations can be sent to the Office of Alumni Relations and may come from campus and beyond. Decisions are made by the University's Standing Awards Committee.

2017 Award Recipients


Marilyn Kent Byrne
Distinguished Alumna Award

Hillary Merkley
Young Alumni Award

Mike Prime
William J. Bartz Award

Dr. Maria Wong
ISU Achievement Award

Debbie Green
ISU Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Alan Stanek
President's Medallion Award

Alan Van Orden
President's Medallion Award

Terry Fredrickson
ISU Alumni Special Friend Award





Idaho Potato Commission
Parade Marshal

Archive Listing of Past Award Recipients

Click here to see photos from this year's activities


921 South 8th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho, 83209