News and Notes

A Newsletter for Faculty and Staff of Idaho State University

May 2, 2011 — Vol. 27 No. 18

More than 2,000 Set to Graduate

A total of 2,234 graduates will receive 2,297 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University's spring commencement ceremonies, which will begin at 10 a.m. May 7 in Holt Arena.

Sixty-one students will receive multiple certificates and/or degrees.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, three distinguished faculty members will be acknowledged, 10 alumni will be recognized for their professional achievement, and 13 outstanding students will be recognized.

The breakdown of graduates includes 36 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, seven Doctor of Education degrees, eight Doctor of Arts degrees, eight Doctor of Audiology degrees, 28 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, 10 Educational Specialist degrees, 74 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, 472 master's degrees, nine Graduate School certificates, 1,172 bachelor's degrees, 332 associate degrees, and 141 certificates from the College of Technology.

Jakob Dylan, a two-time Grammy Award-winning singer/songwriter, will be awarded an honorary Doctor of Letters by the newly formed ISU College of Arts and Letters. This is the first honorary degree conferred through the College. Dylan is the lead singer and songwriter for The Wallflowers. Formed in 1990, the Los Angeles-based band has sold more than 7 million records worldwide. In addition, Dylan has also released two critically acclaimed solo albums.

Faculty members to be recognized for distinguished service are Roger Schmidt, English professor in the Department of English, Distinguished Teacher; Terry Bowyer, associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences, Distinguished Researcher; and Caroline Fauré, assistant professor, Department of Sport Science and Physical Education, Distinguished Service Award.

Ten alumni will be honored with professional achievement awards from their respective colleges and divisions, and the Idaho State University Office of Alumni Relations and the ISU Alumni Association. They are Bart K. Hendrickson, Los Angeles, Calif., College of Arts and Letters, Fine Arts and Humanities; K. Wade Tolman, Pocatello, College of Arts and Letters, Social and Behavioral Sciences; Dr. Walton C. Poole, Boise, Idaho, College of Science and Engineering, Natural and Physical Sciences; Michael L. Heinrich, San Jose, Calif., College of Science and Engineering, Engineering; Evelyn Robinson, Pocatello, Idaho, College of Education; M. Bruce Nelson, Boca Raton, Fla., College of Business; Terry P. Gillett, Gilbert, Ariz., College of Technology; Eli Tour, Hilton Head Island, S.C., College of Pharmacy; Lory Laughter, Napa, Calif., Division of Health Sciences and Dr. Grace Jacobsen, Pocatello, Idaho, School of Nursing.

Outstanding Student Award recipients for 2011 are Sean Jorgensen, Troy, Mich., College of Arts and Letters, Fine Arts and Humanities; Christopher Chatwin, Magrath, Alberta, Canada, College of Arts and Letters, Social and Behavioral Sciences; Roy Malamakal, Boise, Idaho, College of Science and Engineering, Natural and Physical sciences; Amanda E. Finkes, St. Louis, College of Science and Engineering, Engineering; Richard D. Westover, Graduate School Master's Candidate, Roseville, Calif.; Jason J. Blazevic, Graduate School Doctoral Candidate, Phoenix, Arizona; Erica Wendt-Richardson, Idaho Falls, Idaho, College of Education; Larissa F. Kimball, Emmett, Idaho, College of Business; Desaray J. Odekirk, Salt Lake City, Utah, and Barbara A. Trolson, Idaho Falls, Idaho, College of Technology; Julianne Ramirez, Somerville, N.J., College of Pharmacy; Kate D. Erickson, Meridian, Idaho, Division of Health Sciences and Shannon M. Earl, Pocatello, Idaho, School of Nursing.

Nanette Nielson, soprano, a music performance student in the class of 2011, will perform the national anthem and the "Alma Mater Hymn." Roger Schmidt, 2011 Distinguished Teacher, will place the faculty mace. Institutional reader will be John Gribas, professor communication and rhetorical studies. Ted Messmore, president of the ISU Alumni Association board of directors, will welcome alumni.

Idaho State University President Arthur C. Vailas, will greet the audience and confer the degrees. ISU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Gary A. Olson, will recognize the distinguished faculty. Associated Students of ISU President Casidy Jahnke will deliver remarks.

Presentation of graduates will be by the University deans: Kandi Turley-Ames, College of Arts and letters; Deborah Hedeen, College of Education; Kenneth A. Smith, College of Business; Linda Hatzenbuehler, executive dean, Division of Health Sciences; George Imel, College of Science and Engineering; Marilyn Davis, College of Technology; Paul Cady, College of Pharmacy; and Thomas Jackson, Graduate School.

A reception for graduates and their guests will follow the ceremony on the floor of Holt Arena. Interpreting service for people with hearing disabilities will be provided by the ADA and Disabilities Resource Center.