News and Notes

A Newsletter for Faculty and Staff of Idaho State University

April 16, 2007 — Vol. 23 No. 15

President Arthur C. Vailas, PhD, is proudly displaying his new personalized ISU collegiate license plate, which has the hearty approval of ISU mascot Benny the Bengal. The new, more visible ISU Bengals logo replaces the former Bengal tiger face with bold text. Income from the plates will fund scholarship aid. ISU faculty, staff, alumni and supporters are encouraged to show their Bengal pride and support ISU student scholarships by ordering plates soon. For more information, contact Alumni Relations at x3755.

In this Issue

Bold new ISU license plate makes its debut

A bold new ISU Bengals logo appears on the redesigned Idaho motor-vehicle collegiate license plate for the university. An ISU text logo replaces the familiar Bengal tiger’s face, which was indistinct from a distance. The plate provides alumni, employees and ISU supporters alike the opportunity to broadcast their pride in and support of Idaho State University. Income (read more...)

KISU-FM 91.1 sets spring fundraiser April 11-13

KISU-FM 91.1 will launch an abbreviated spring fund drive next week from Wednesday, April 11, through Friday, April 13. KISU successfully ran its first-ever fall campaign last October, raising around $10,000 from generous donors. But station general manager Jerry Miller says it’s an ongoing process. “With constant pressure to reduce our student-fee funding, yet with so many (read more...)

Outstanding Researchers Colloquium set April 17

Idaho State University will present the ISU 2007 Outstanding Researchers Colloquium at 4 p.m. April 17 in Goranson Hall, located on the lower level of the ISU Fine Arts Building. The 2007 Outstanding Researchers are David G. Adler, PhD, political science; Nancy Huntly, PhD, ecology and biology; Paul K. Link, PhD, geosciences; and Susan Swetnam, PhD, (read more...)

ICEE receives $140,000 grant to benefit ‘high-need’ school districts

The Idaho State University College of Education has received an additional $140,000 from the Idaho State Board of Education – bringing awards to nearly a million dollars – to continue implementation of a program that trains teachers in “high-need” school districts to teach students with poor English skills how to better master their language skills (read more...)

Global warming’s effect on western treelines focus of ISU research

Idaho State University assistant professor Matt Germino, PhD, will be trying to determine how global warming is influencing the lower and upper boundaries of forests across a broad swath of the western United States. “Our climate is warming; that is no longer ambiguous,” Germino says. “Now we have to determine how we’re going to deal (read more...)

Faculty/Staff Update

Recent new hires at ISU include: William H. Chalmers, research associate, Academic Affairs; Jason D. Brahosky, animal lab assistant, Animal Care Facility; Hannah Newhall Sanger, coordinator, biological sciences; Michael Dee Landon, custodian, Custodial; Dorys Gutierrez, office specialist II, ISU Boise Center; Anna-Lise K. Smith, electronic resources librarian, Library; Jason R. Tolliver, fiscal officer, student services.

College of Engineering Dean Richard Jacobsen, PhD, has received the Idaho Society of Professional Engineers Excellence in Engineering Educator Award. The award was presented March 23 in Boise at the Idaho Society of Professional Engineers annual meeting. The award is presented to an engineering professor who has had a significant impact on the engineering profession in Idaho. Dr. Jacobsen was chosen in part due to his history of helping students throughout the state to become successful engineers, and encouraging them to continue their educations in the workplace. In his career he also has been chief scientist at the Idaho National Laboratory, dean of the University of Idaho College of Engineering, director for the UI Center for Applied Thermodynamic Studies, and a mechanical-engineering professor.



Employee Recognition Week will be April 30 through May 3. The week will include nearly 40 training programs. Last year, the eventís first year, 600 registrants participated in a variety of personal- and professional-development opportunities during the week. For a complete agenda of workshops, visit the ISU Human Resources Web site at Seating for workshops is limited, and registration is required. To register for the workshops you wish to attend, call x2517 or send an e-mail to

Dewey Dykstra Jr., PhD, of the Boise State University Department of Physics, will speak at the ISU Department of Physics Colloquium on Monday, April 16, from 4 to 4:50 p.m. in Physical Science 108. He will discuss a project involving Tibetan Buddhist Monks. In 2000, His Holiness, the 14th Dalai Lama, started the Science for Monks Project. In addition to traditional lectures in the sciences, Dykstra and other physicists have been using inquiry to engage monks in making sense of the physical world, to help them understand how western science develops knowledge. Together with the monks, they have examined issues of light and color, thermal phenomena, and the nature of knowledge in science. The presentation will include many photos and some video clips of the work with the monks and of northern India.

ISU Professional Women will host the annual Spring Luncheon with ISU President Arthur C. Vailas, PhD, on Monday, May 7, 11:30 a.m. in the PSUB Wood River Room. The cost will be $10 for non-members and $5 for members. RSVP to Deb Easterly, EdD, at or x2618, by Wednesday, May 2. Impromptu questions for President Vailas will be taken from the floor at the luncheon, or may be submitted in advance to any board member. All are welcome to attend.

Faculty and staff are invited to the 2006-2007 Outstanding Student Achievement Awards Banquet on Friday, April 27, at the Red Lion Hotel Pocatello. The event is being sponsored by the ISU Alumni Association and the ISU Ambassadors, who will honor 22 of ISUís outstanding students for 2007. The Red Lion is located at 1555 Pocatello Creek Road. The event begins with a reception at 6 p.m., followed by dinner at 7 p.m. Cost is $25 per plate. For reservations, call the ISU Alumni Association at (208) 282-3755 or e-mail Eleven Outstanding Student Achievement Award recipients and their Most Influential Professors will be honored as well. Again this year, 11 additional students will be honored as Outstanding Student Achievement Award runners-up. The recipients are: Christian P. Batcheller, Graduate School-masterís; Evan S. Frasure III, College of Pharmacy; Deborah D. Gillard, College of Technology; Jeffrey J. Grieve-College of Arts and Sciences-Social Sciences; Edwin A. Guerra, College of Engineering; Michael J. Lance, College of Arts and Sciences-Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Torey L. Portrie, Graduate School-doctoral, R. Tal Sampson, College of Arts and Sciences-Fine Arts and Humanities; Kristal Searle, College of Business; Melanie Williams, College of Education; and Angela V. Young, Kasiska College of Health Professions. The runners-up are: Claudia V. Allen, College of Business; Cassandra A. Case, College of Arts and Sciences-Fine Arts and Humanities; Janica J. Gillette, Kasiska College of Health Professions; Sheldon T. Harris, College of Education; Obiajulu J. Isebor, College of Engineering; Sandra A. Lechner, College of Arts and Sciences-Social Sciences; JoSann M. Lien, Graduate School-masterís; Heather N. Ruesch, College of Pharmacy; Steven M. Seiler, Graduate School-doctoral; Chad D. Watts, College of Arts and Sciences-Natural Sciences and Mathematics; and Kimberly Wright, College of Technology.