News and Notes

A Newsletter for Faculty and Staff of Idaho State University

May 6, 2013 — Vol. 29 No. 17

Commencement is Saturday

A total of 2,364 graduates will receive 2,476 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University's spring commencement ceremonies, which will begin at 10 a.m. May 11 in Holt Arena.

One hundred six students will receive multiple certificates and/or degrees.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, three distinguished faculty members will be acknowledged, 10 alumni will be recognized for their professional achievement, and 13 outstanding students will be recognized.

The breakdown of graduates includes 37 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, nine Doctor of Education degrees, three Doctor of Arts degrees, five Doctor of Audiology degrees, 29 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, 85 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, 12 Educational Specialist degrees, 471 master's degrees, 10 Graduate School certificates, 1,251 bachelor's degrees, 347 associate degrees, and 217 certificates from the College of Technology.

Faculty members to be recognized for distinguished service are Donna Lybecker, associate professor political science, Distinguished Teacher; Scott Anderson, professor of music, Distinguished Service Award; and Bruce Finney, professor of biological sciences, Distinguished Researcher.

Ten alumni will be honored with ISU 2013 Professional Achievement Awards from their respective colleges and divisions, and the Idaho State University Office of Alumni Relations and the ISU Alumni Association. They are Richard Ardinger, Boise, College of Arts and Letters, Fine Arts and Humanities; Col. F. Paul Briggs, Alexandria, Va., College of Arts and Letters, Social and Behavioral Sciences; Blaine Dee Nisson, Green Valley, Ariz., College of Education; Dennis Keith Poulton, Orange, Calif., College of Science and Engineering, Engineering; Thomas Ioerger, Boulder City, Nev., College of Science and Engineering, Natural and Physical Science; Anita Herzog, Washington, Utah, Division of Health Sciences; LuAnn Storm Howe, Sacramento, Calif., Division of Health Sciences School of Nursing; H. Eric Cannon, Salt Lake City, College of Pharmacy; Phil J. "Jake" Jones, Twin Falls, College of Business; and Robert Dunkley, Idaho Falls, College of Technology.

Outstanding Student Award recipients for 2013 are: Ariel J. McKay, from Kimberly, Division of Health Sciences; Kinta M. Serve, Fort Worth, Texas, Graduate School - Doctoral Recipient; Nancy L. Sherrill, Boulder, Colo., Graduate School - Masters Recipient; Alexa B. Goff, Soda Springs, College of Arts and Letters-Fine Arts and Humanities; Steven R. Boomhower, Twin Falls, College of Arts and Letters-Social and Behavioral Sciences; Cassidy J. Fernandez, Idaho Falls, College of Business; Danielle Rae Ahlstrom, Boise, College of Pharmacy; Kole H. Spaulding, Mountain Home, College of Education; Kourtney D. Wright, Pocatello, College of Science and Engineering-Natural and Physical Sciences; Bric Davis Balmforth, Pocatello, College of Science and Engineering-Engineering; Brandalin Barnes, Chubbuck, College of Technology; and Gregory A. Fenchel, Albuquerque, N. M., School of Nursing.

Donna Lybecker, 2013 Distinguished Teacher, will place the faculty mace. Institutional reader will be John Gribas, professor of communication and rhetorical studies. Deb Stone, president of the ISU Alumni Association board of directors, will welcome alumni.

Idaho State University President Arthur C. Vailas, will greet the audience and confer the degrees. ISU Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Barbara Adamcik will recognize the distinguished faculty. Associated Students of ISU President Matt Bloxham will deliver remarks.

Presentation of graduates will be by the University deans: Kandi Turley-Ames, College of Arts and Letters; Deborah Hedeen, College of Education; Thomas Ottaway, College of Business; Linda Hatzenbuehler, executive dean, Division of Health Sciences; George Imel, College of Science and Engineering; Scott Rasmussen, College of Technology; Paul Cady, College of Pharmacy; and Nicole Hill, outdoing interim, Graduate School.

A reception for graduates and their guests will follow the ceremony on the floor of Holt Arena. Interpreting service for people with hearing disabilities will be provided by the Idaho State University Disabilities Services.