News and Notes

A Newsletter for Faculty and Staff of Idaho State University

January 27, 2014 — Vol. 30 No. 3

Scott McClure Named Business Leader of the Year

Scott McClure, president and managing officer of McClure Engineering, Inc. in Twin Falls, is the 2014 Idaho Business Leader of the Year. The professional business fraternity at Idaho State University, the Delta Upsilon chapter of Alpha Kappa Psi, will recognize McClure at a dinner in Pocatello on Thursday, March 20.

The award annually recognizes an Idaho business leader who has demonstrated outstanding business and professional ethics while contributing significant support to worthwhile community, civic and education activities. Awarded by ISU College of Business students since 1959, previous honorees have included a congressman, former governors, entrepreneurs, and leaders of some of Idaho's largest companies. The recognition program is the longest-standing one of its kind in Idaho.

McClure started McClure Engineering, Inc. in 1978 in Twin Falls. For more than 35 years, McClure Engineering has provided professional mechanical, industrial and structural engineering solutions to clients in 15 states. Under McClure's leadership, the company has worked on significant Idaho projects such as the Boise State University Recreation and Student Center renovation, Minidoka Memorial Hospital and the Twin Falls School District Multi-Purpose Rooms.

McClure brings integrity, dedication, and service commitment to both his community and engineering projects. His business continues to grow on a reputation of excellent service.

McClure is dedicated to his community as well as his company. He serves on the Twin Falls Advisory Board Council, advising the city on building codes. His service history includes President of the Idaho Society of Professional Engineers, the Twin Falls YMCA Board of Directors, Chairman of the Twin Falls Urban Renewal Agency, and the Idaho State Board of Education committee for engineering education.

McClure awards scholarships and internships to local high school students pursuing an education in the science and engineering fields and is a mentor for the Twin Falls High School Idaho Green Schools Challenge. He shares his knowledge and expertise with local high school students who are interested in science, engineering and multimedia careers. He is an example of lifelong learning as he maintains his certifications and memberships in professional engineering societies.

McClure continuously supports local youth organizations. Each year McClure Engineering buys an animal from one of the 4-H members and donates it back to the member. McClure supports the Robotics Explorer Post 411 Club. He believes that supporting clubs helps youth explore their world through innovation and education. With his help they were able to compete in the 2013 FIRST Championship in St. Louis, Mo.

In addition to the 2014 IBLOY award, McClure's commitment to his company, community service and education garnered him the Professional Achievement Award from Idaho State University in 1985 and the Idaho Excellence in Engineering Award from the Idaho Society of Professional Engineers in 2010.

Individual tickets to the March 20 banquet, as well as event sponsorships, are available. For more information, contact Josh Bullers, Alpha Kappa Psi Idaho Business Leader of the Year chair, by phone at (208) 539-2194 or by e-mail at or Jessy Rice, Alpha Kappa Psi Idaho Business Leader of the Year vice-chair, by phone at (208) 339-2470.

McClure's Public service (elected or appointed offices):

McClure's Community service (service clubs, nonprofit boards, etc.):

A complete list of award winners follows:

Idaho "Business Leader of the Year" Award Recipients
1959 M.T. Deaton, M.T. Deaton & Company, Pocatello
1960 Ralph R. Comstock, Sr. First Security Bank, Boise
1961 Clarence Garrett, Garrett Freightlines, Pocatello
1962 Harry W. Morrison Morrison-Knudson Boise
1963 J.R. Simplot, J.R. Simplot Company, Boise
1964 C. Ed Flandro, Flandro Ford, Pocatello
1965 Robert V. Hansberger, Boise Cascade Company, Boise
1966 Thomas E. Roach, Idaho Power Company, Boise
1967 Dr. Frank Seelye Dean, ISU College of Business, Pocatello
1968 Curtis Eaton, Sr. Twin Falls Bank and Trust, Twin Falls
1969 Ralph R. Comstock, Jr., First Security Bank, Boise
1970 J. Grant Bickmore, Idaho Bank and Trust, Pocatello
1971 Cecil Andrus, State of Idaho, Boise
1972 Albert Carlsen, Idaho Power Company, Boise
1973 John Dahl, J.R. Simplot Company, Boise
1974 Sy Block, Blocks, Inc., Pocatello
1975 Robert D. Bolinder, Albertson's, Inc., Boise
1976 J Allen Jensen, KID-TV, Idaho Falls
1978 Fred C. Humphreys, Idaho First National Bank, Boise
1981 Ted E. Ellis, Key Bank of Idaho, Boise
1982 Dale Dunn, J.R. Simplot Company, Boise
1983 Robert C. Hammond, Jensen Oil Company, Idaho Falls
1984 Harry F. Magnuson, H.F. Magnuson Company, Wallace
1985 Warren E. McCain, Albertson's, Inc., Boise
1986 Jon H. Miller , Boise Cascade Company, Boise
1987 Park Price, III, Park Price Motor Company, Pocatello
1988 Sybil Ferguson, Diet Center, Rexburg
1990 Curtis Eaton, Jr., First Security Bank, Twin Falls
1991 Keith Hinckley, Basic American Foods, Blackfoot
1992 Walter Minnick, T.J. International, Boise
1993 Don Aslett, Varsity Cleaners, Pocatello
1994 Gordon C. Smith, J.R. Simplot Company, Boise
1995 Sam H. Bennion, V-1 Oil Company, Idaho Falls
1996 Michael M. Mooney, Key Bank of Idaho, Boise
1997 Gary G. Michael, Albertson's, Inc., Boise
1998 Frank L. Vandersloot, Melaleuca, Idaho Falls
1999 William C. Glynn, Intermountain Industries, Inc., Boise
2000 Carolyn Ticknor, Hewlett-Packard, Boise
2001 Theodore Crumley, Boise Cascade Company, Boise
2002 ISU Centennial, all past winners honored
2003 James Rogers, Sunbelt Communications, Pocatello
2004 Chris King, AMI Semiconductor, Pocatello
2005 Ed Dahlberg, St. Luke's Regional Medical, Boise
2006 Duane B. Hagadone, Hagadone Corporation, Coeur d' Alene
2007 James Johnston, Home Specialists, Pocatello
2008 Arlo D. Luke, Varsity Contractors, Pocatello
2009 Douglas A. Sayer, Premier Technology, Inc., Blackfoot
2010 Allen Dykman, Dykman Electrical, Inc., Boise
2011 Charley Jones, Stinker Stores, Boise
2012 Alan Bermensolo, B Transfer Inc., Mountain Home
2013 Ron Nilson, Ground Force Manufacturing, Twin Falls