News and Notes

A Newsletter for Faculty and Staff of Idaho State University

May 5, 2014 — Vol. 30 No. 16

Graduating Seniors

Spring Commencement 2014

A total of 2,450 graduates will receive 2,537 degrees and certificates during Idaho State University's spring commencement ceremonies, which will begin at 10 a.m. May 10 in Holt Arena.

Eighty-seven students will receive multiple certificates and/or degrees.

In addition to the presentation of these degrees and certificates, three distinguished faculty members will be acknowledged, 10 alumni will be recognized for their professional achievement, and 12 outstanding students will be recognized.

Idaho State University will award an honorary Doctor of Engineering to Jack R. Wheatley, benefactor to Idaho State University and other universities and former northern California real estate developer. Jack, and his late wife Mary Lois, have donated more than $1 million to ISU and are in the ISU Foundation's highest donor recognition category, the Gem Legacy Diamond Society.

The breakdown of graduates includes 35 Doctor of Philosophy degrees, six Doctor of Education degrees, three Doctor of Arts degrees, four Doctor of Audiology degrees, 18 Doctor of Physical Therapy degrees, 99 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, six Educational Specialist degrees, 547 master's degrees, 10 Graduate School certificates, 1,198 bachelor's degrees, 429 associate degrees, and 182 certificates from the College of Technology.

Faculty members to be recognized with Distinguished Teacher, Service and Researcher awards will be announced.

Ten alumni will be honored with ISU 2014 Professional Achievement Awards from their respective colleges and divisions, and the Idaho State University Office of Alumni Relations and the ISU Alumni Association. Verne A. Duncan, from Milwaukie, Ore., College of Arts and Letters-Social and Behavioral Sciences; Billie Johnson McSeveney, Alexandria, Va., College of Arts and Letters-Fine Arts and Humanities; Kent Oram, Pocatello, College of Business; Marilyn E. Davis, Vancouver, Wash., College of Education; Sunil Wadhwani, Spokane, Wash., College of Pharmacy; Kelly L. Lively, Idaho Falls, College of Science and Engineering-Engineering; Archie Chue Shum, Oxnard, Calif., College of Science and Engineering-Natural and Physical Sciences; Meg Long Woodhouse, Pocatello, Division of Health Sciences; Sandra Evans, Boise, School of Nursing; and Robert C. Bacon, Salt Lake City, College of Technology.

Outstanding Student Award recipients for 2014 are: Samantha Nicolello, from Boise, Division of Health Sciences; Elise Kimberly Barker, Topeka, Kan., Graduate School - Doctoral Recipient; Lori D. Barber, Idaho Falls, Graduate School - Masters Candidate; Nicole M. Blanchard, Mountain Home, College of Arts and Letters - Fine Arts and Humanities; Amy Messegee Denny, Skagway, Alaska, College of Arts and Letters - Social and Behavioral Sciences; Andrea Vicic, Surrey, British Columbia, Canada - College of Business; John Anthony Malamakal, Boise, College of Pharmacy; Carly Hutchings Maloney, Centerville, Utah, College of Education; Christopher John Reed, Boise, College of Science and Engineering - Natural and Physical Sciences; Antonio Diego Tahhan Acosta, Coro, Venezuela, College of Science and Engineering - Engineering; Daphne A. Eline, Seattle, College of Technology; and Kylie Pukash, Boise, School of Nursing.

ISU student Emma Doupe will perform the national anthem. The faculty mace will be placed by the 2014 Distinguished Teacher. Larry Satterwhite, president of the ISU Alumni Association, will welcome alumni.

Idaho State University President Arthur C. Vailas will greet the audience and confer the degrees. ISU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Laura Woodworth-Ney will recognize the distinguished faculty. Associated Students of ISU President Matt Bloxham will deliver remarks. Presentation of graduates will be by the University deans.

The "Alma Mater Hymn" will be performed by an ISU student ensemble comprised of Emma Doupe, Elissa Jones, Kiya Fife, Jessica Haddox, Stephanie Moore, Trey Croft, Ethan McWilliams, Nicholas Bailey and Lakota Terrace.

A reception for graduates and their guests will follow the ceremony on the floor of Holt Arena. Interpreting service for people with hearing disabilities will be provided by the Idaho State University Disabilities Services.

Graduates are encouraged to share their memories on social media at #isugrads.