Letter from the President

April 7, 2010

Dear Friend of Idaho State University,

In the classroom and in the laboratory, faculty members at Idaho State University are contributing to the next generation of leaders and scholars and leading the way in new innovations and discoveries.

It's not often enough that we thank them for their dedication, and recognize their work and talent. The Distinguished Faculty awards are one way to honor those who excel in the classroom, laboratory and community.

I'd like to congratulate this year's five Outstanding Master Teachers — Karen Appleby, associate professor of sport science and physical education; Michele Brumley, assistant professor of psychology; Robert Fisher, professor of mathematics; Jessica Winston, associate professor of English, and Brent Wolter, associate professor of English.

These professors epitomize excellence in their mentoring of students and sharing of knowledge. Students and peers who nominated them called them role models and praised them for their dedication to students and their field.

Also worthy of recognition are the Outstanding Public Service Award winners. This year, winners include David Gray Adler, Ph.D., professor of political science; Caroline Fauré, Ed.D., assistant professor of sports science and physical education; Susan Goslee, Ph.D., assistant professor of English; Thom Hasenpflug, D.M.A., associate professor of music; and Glenn Thackray, Ph.D., professor of geosciences.

These faculty members give a great deal to the outside community. They sit on boards for non-profit organizations who help underprivileged children. They share their knowledge through lectures and interviews. They work to sponsor legislation that makes a difference in the community. They offer opportunities for everyone, whether a student or not, to learn.

Across disciplines and throughout the University, researchers are changing the way we look at the world, from the way we look at our environment to the way we look at our past. This year, we honored three Outstanding Researchers — Daniel Ames, associate professor of geosciences, Erika Kuhlman, associate professor of history and Robert Tokle, professor of economics.

These faculty members, along with others, are changing public policy and history, and developing software that helps others create new knowledge as well.

Later this month, we will honor our winners at a banquet and announce the 2010 Distinguished faculty members. I'm proud of these and all our faculty members who work hard to bring the benefits of higher education to our students and the community.

Go Bengals!

Letter from the President

Arthur C. Vailas, Ph.D.
President, Idaho State University


921 South 8th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho, 83209